About the Distillery
The distillery was first opened as Dufftown-Glenlivet Distillery in 1895 and in 1933 was purchased by Arthur Bell and Sons Ltd. The spirit produced here became a major contributor to their popular blend of Bells Blended Malt Whisky and eventually were bought over by Guiness in 1997. They then merged with Grand Metropolitan to form Diageo.
In 1974 the distillery increased its number of stills from two to four and then a short while later increased them to six. The Dufftown Distillery now has the capacity to make 27 million litres of whisky a year and sources its water from Jock’s Well in the Conval Hills.
The Singleton is its most popular product.